To: Timothy

From: Sha’ul, an emissary of the Messiah Yeshua by command of God our deliverer and the Messiah Yeshua our hope

 

 

To: Timothy, a true son because of your trust: Grace, mercy and shalom from God the Father and the Messiah Yeshua our Lord.

 

Dear Tim,

 

Brother, did you catch the game last night?  The Pagans beat the Jews again 😦  I really was rooting for them to have a better year this year – I really have soft spot for them even though God has rejected them and they are all going to hell anyways.  Still, it was tough to watch that little Jewish girl ripped apart by the hungry lion right before halftime.

 

We are going to be showing next week’s contest between the Christians and the Pagans in the gentile court at Solomon’s temple!  Better get there early to get a good seat!  I think the Christians have a good chance to win this one because they are going to let them have swords to defend themselves this time!  I can’t wait!!!  Some of the brothers will be drinking beer, but lets not make a big deal about it unless they start getting drunk.  I mean, sheesh, at least they are not homos!

 

There may be some in your congregation that have mistaken God’s words and mine about worldliness.  I see no problem with going to these games and watching them in a Holy setting.  We can be set apart from the world and still watch it and like what we see without it corrupting us because we are a dwelling place for God and he has no problem with this.  In fact, while he might have a little problem with the half-naked cheerleaders and the people having sex in the stands, as long as we don’t look and cover our eyes, it would not be dishonoring to God and he will be okay with it.

 

I, after all, have the blood soaked shirt of Stephen framed on my wall.  I am looking at it as I write this.  I actually got him to sign it before they stoned him!

 

As far as the commercials, it is possible that they can promote coveting.  I instruct you and others just to cover your eyes or mute them with your remotes – especially the ones that have to do with pleasing her for 4 or more hours. However, I disagree with the more legalistic Pharisees that state if you have to mute it, there may be a problem with it in the first place.  Their legalistic approach to God’s word and his commands show that they can’t interpret anything right!  We wouldn’t be showing it in the temple if it was really worldly, right?

 

While I am on this subject, Yeshua wasn’t being literal about surpassing the righteousness of the Pharisees:

 

Matthew 5:20 (CJB) 20 For I tell you that unless your righteousness is far greater than that of the Torah-teachers and P’rushim, you will certainly not enter the Kingdom of Heaven!

 

He was simply stating that all you have to do is believe him more than the Pharisees did.  I know that some will shoot back and say that Yeshua stated that “those who love me obey my commands” like God did in Sh’mot 20:6 and in D’varim 5:10, but this is utter nonsense!  He wasn’t talking about God’s Torah, he was talking about commands like loving God and loving your neighbor. Where is that in the Torah???

 

You know, since the followers look to me for guidance, and I am writing this, I think you can see that it is and will be a statement that they will trust.  After all, I am the emissary, and what I say goes!  I am THE example that they look to!

 

As for John, I don’t know what to say. I think he is a bit of a closet Pharisee himself.  After all, since I was a Pharisee before I converted to Christianity, I think I would know one if I saw one!  You know the bit I am referencing:

 

1 John 2:15-16 (CJB) 15 Do not love the world or the things of the world.

If someone loves the world, then love for the Father is not in him; 16 because all the things of the world —

  • the desires of the old nature,

  • the desires of the eyes,

  • and the pretensions of life —

are not from the Father but from the world.

 

 

Tsk, tsk, tsk. . .  John is such a knucklehead!

 

Personally, I think he is just trying to impress Yeshua’s half-brother Ya’akov!  I mean where does Ya’akov get off stating that “loving the world is hating God?”  I don’t love the world, I just love the games.  Loving the games is not making myself the worlds friend.  Therefore I can’t be his enemy. Simple logic.

 

So have a good time!  I hope to see you at the game!

 

Sh’aul

**  (This parody was in response to a sermon and a service I attended and played on the worship team that day.  I couldn’t even get my drum pedals before the screen behind me was playing an NFL game in the sanctuary – commercials and all)

About Even If Ministries

Dani'el 3:17-18 (CJB) 17 Your majesty, if our God, whom we serve, is able to save us, he will save us from the blazing hot furnace and from your power. 18 But even if he doesn’t, we want you to know, your majesty, that we will neither serve your gods nor worship the gold statue which you have set up.”
This entry was posted in Parody - Writings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

