Does Jesus = Salvation?

What would you do if you heard the following statement:

If the things you teach are true, how will any of us be saved?”

I have to tell you, when someone you love very much makes a statement like this, it causes you to look back at what you have discussed with them in the past and in the present, or at least it should.  When you are alone and in private, if you are like me, you will ask yourself many questions:

      • Have I neglected to discuss the purpose of  understanding God’s Word?
      • Have I neglected to discuss the purpose of  understanding the Gospels?
      • Have I neglected to discuss the purpose of  understanding of covenants?
      • Have I neglected to discuss the purpose of  understanding redemption?
      • Have I neglected to discuss the purpose of  understanding repentance?
      • Have I neglected to discuss the purpose of  understanding grace?
      • Have I neglected to discuss the purpose of  understanding worldliness?

And although it seems simple enough, you realize that in talking to a believer that you may be making assumptions that you should not make:

      • Have I neglected to discuss the purpose of  understanding what salvation is?

What does it mean to be saved?  What are you being saved from?  Who will be saved – Who won’t?  After all, wasn’t that her original question:  “how will any of us be saved?”

It is in this that I write this post:  To her, to you, and to me – To me so that I may be reminded never to assume – never to take for granted – that salvation is understood by anyone that I discuss our Lord with.

Let’s start by looking at what salvation is defined as.  When we search the text for salvation, we come first to the following verse in a couple of different versions of the text:

בראשית 49:18 Hebrew Bible

לישועתך קויתי יהוה׃

 Genesis 49:18 (CJB) 18 I wait for your deliverance, Adonai.

Genesis 49:18 (NIV) 18 “I look for your deliverance, O LORD.

Genesis 49:18 (KJV) 18 I have waited for thy salvation, O LORD.

Genesis 49:18 (NASB) 18 “For Your salvation I wait, O LORD.

These verses state either salvation or deliverance in their translation.  What you may not know, is the Hebrew word that they translate salvation or deliverance from. Salvation and deliverance that these 4 translations use are translated in this verse from the word  ‏יְשׁוּעָה‎ yeshûʿāh!

How exciting is that?!?

Okay, I am sure I just lost at least a few of you with that question, so let me let me take you to another place in the text that will explain it much better than I ever could:

Matthew 1:18-25 (CJB) 18 Here is how the birth of Yeshua the Messiah took place.

When his mother Miryam (Mary) was engaged to Yosef (Joseph),

before they were married,

she was found to be pregnant from the Ruach HaKodesh (Holy spirit).

19 Her husband-to-be, Yosef, was a man who did what was right;

so he made plans to break the engagement quietly,

rather than put her to public shame.

20 But while he was thinking about this,

an angel of Adonai appeared to him in a dream and said,

“Yosef, son of David,

do not be afraid to take Miryam home with you as your wife;

for what has been conceived in her is from the Ruach HaKodesh.

21 She will give birth to a son, and you are to name him Yeshua,

[which means ‘Adonai saves,’]

because he will save his people from their sins.”

22 All this happened in order to fulfill what Adonai had said through the prophet, 23“The virgin will conceive and bear a son,

and they will call him ‘Immanu El.”

(The name means, “God is with us.”)

Isaiah 7:14 (CJB) 14 Therefore Adonai himself will give you people a sign: the young woman will become pregnant, bear a son and name him ‘Immanu El [God is with us].

24 When Yosef awoke he did what the angel of Adonai had told him to do —

he took Miryam home to be his wife, 25 but he did not have sexual relations with her until she had given birth to a son,

and he named him Yeshua.

There is a lot lost in the translation of Yeshua, especially when we translate it as Jesus.  Bear with me before you bristle up and get angry.  This is important – I promise!  I encourage you to check every single thing I say against the text, language, and in history!

Be a Berean here – I encourage it!

As we have just learned in the text of B’resheet (In the beginning: aka Genesis) 49:18, Yeshua is the Hebrew word for salvation which some versions also translate as deliverance.  Maybe a good question here would be:

Why don’t we call Jesus “Salvation” or “Deliverance” instead?”

To understand, we must first look at how the word Jesus was arrived at.  Jesus comes from the Greek word Iēsous.  Does Iēsous mean salvation in the Greek?  Simply put, no, it doesn’t.  The Greek word for salvation is sōtēria. Sōtēria  is where we get the word soteriology from (the study of religious doctrines of salvation).  Why is Yeshua translated as Iēsous in the Greek instead of Sōtēria? It is simple and not so simple.  Iēsous is not a translation of Yeshua, it is a transliteration (a conversion of one text to another) – In this case, Hebrew to Greek.  If Iēsous was a translation of Yeshua, then Yeshua would be called Sōtēria in the Greek.  He is not.  For example, in Hebrew, teʾfināh means fig or fig tree.  Fig or fig tree is translated as sukē in the Greek.  I don’t know what the transliteration of teʾfināh (the Hebrew for fig tree) would be in the Greek.  With this understanding in mind, there could be a number of reasons that I could go into on why Yeshua was transliterated instead of translated but that is for another time. I will leave up to you to study and decide for now on your own.

Suffice it to say, Yeshua literally means Salvation in the text.  Yosef (Joseph) was given a command by God, through the angel, to name the child conceived in Miryam (Mary) by the Ruach HaKodesh (Holy Spirit), Yeshua (Salvation).

Why is this important to understand? Because Yeshua means Salvation!  He is Salvation!

Luke 2:11 (CJB) 11 This very day,

in the town of David,

there was born for you a Deliverer (sōtēria)

who is the Messiah, the Lord.

We could rewrite this so that we can understand what is actually being said and implied:

Luke 2:11 (CJB) 11 This very day,

in the town of David,

there was born for you Yeshua (Salvation)

who is the Messiah, the Lord.

We have to understand it this way if we are to believe and understand the prophet Isaiah:

Isaiah 7:14 (CJB)

14 Therefore Adonai himself will give you people a sign:

the young woman will become pregnant,

bear a son and name him ‘Immanu El [God is with us].

God is with us and He is Yeshua (Salvation)!

In God’s loving-kindness and mercy, He gave us a gift – the gift of salvation – the gift of Yeshua!!!

In Jesus, the understanding may have been lost or obscured.  In Yeshua, it is not because the very understanding of the name Yeshua IS salvation!

If we will turn to God from our sins (repent), call upon the name of the Lord for our salvation, and trust in His son – we can be saved from an eternal separation from God as a result of our sin and sinful nature.

With this in mind, hopefully you will understand this verse just a little bit differently:

John 1:1-5 (CJB)

1 In the beginning was the Word,

and the Word was with God,

and the Word was God.

2 He was with God in the beginning.

3 All things came to be through him,

and without him nothing made had being.

4 In him was life,

and the life was the light of mankind.

5 The light shines in the darkness,

and the darkness has not suppressed it.

Let me rewrite it so that you can understand something significant:

John 1:1-5 (Amplified by me)

1 In the beginning was Yeshua (salvation),

and Yeshua (salvation) was with God,

and Yeshua (salvation) was God.

2 Yeshua (salvation) was with God in the beginning.

3 All things came to be through Yeshua (salvation),

and without Yeshua (salvation) nothing made had being.

4 In Yeshua (salvation) was life,

and the life was the light of mankind.

5 The light shines in the darkness,

and the darkness has not suppressed it.

Let me end with the following:

John 14:6 (CJB)

6 Yeshua said,

“I AM the Way — and the Truth and the Life;

no one comes to the Father except through me.

Again let me re-write this verse to show a significant understanding:

John 14:6 (Amplified by me)

6 Yeshua said,

“I AM Salvation;

no one comes to the Father except through me.

Blessings to you all!

About Even If Ministries

Dani'el 3:17-18 (CJB) 17 Your majesty, if our God, whom we serve, is able to save us, he will save us from the blazing hot furnace and from your power. 18 But even if he doesn’t, we want you to know, your majesty, that we will neither serve your gods nor worship the gold statue which you have set up.”
This entry was posted in Salvation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Does Jesus = Salvation?

  1. Tony Lollio says:

    Great point. It’s important that we know the real Gospel message, and preach it in a way others can understand. Blessings to you.

  2. Thanks Tony! Blessings to you! As I said, you are in my prayers for healing!

  3. Pingback: Looking back at 2012 . . . | evenifministries

  4. 자유인 says:

    The Arrival of Messiah (Malachi 3:1)
    ” I will send My messenger, who will prepare the way before Me. Then suddenly the Lord you are seeking will come to His temple; the messenger of the covenant, whom you desire, will come,” says the LORD Almighty.

    ISV 1 “Watch out! I’m sending my messenger, and he will prepare the way before me.

    HCSB 1 “See, I am going to send My messenger, and he will clear the way before Me.

    ESV 1 “Behold, I send my messenger, and he will prepare the way before me.

    NIV 1 “See, I will send my messenger, who will prepare the way before me.

    TNIV 1 “I will send my messenger, who will prepare the way before me.

    NLT 1 “Look! I am sending my messenger, and he will prepare the way before me.

    NRSV 1 See, I am sending my messenger to prepare the way before me,

    NASB 1 “Behold, I am going to send My messenger, and he will clear the way before Me.

    KJV 1 Behold, I will send my messenger, and he shall prepare the way before me

    NKJV 1 “Behold, I send My messenger, And he will prepare the way before Me.

    GNT 1 The LORD Almighty answers, “I will send my messenger to prepare the way for me.

    MSG 1 “Look! I’m sending my messenger on ahead to clear the way for me.

    Mat 11:10

    KJV 10 For this is he, of whom it is written, Behold, I send my messenger before thy face, which shall prepare thy way before thee.

    ISV 10 This is the man about whom it is written, ‘See, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

    HCSB 10 This is the one it is written about: Look, I am sending My messenger ahead of You; he will prepare Your way before You.

    ESV 10 This is he of whom it is written, “‘Behold, I send my messenger before your face, who will prepare your way before you.’

    NIV 10 This is the one about whom it is written: “‘I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

    TNIV 10 This is the one about whom it is written: ” ‘I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

    NLT 10 John is the man to whom the Scriptures refer when they say, `Look, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, and he will prepare your way before you.’① / ①Mal 3.1

    NRSV 10 This is the one about whom it is written, ‘See, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

    NASB 10 “This is the one about whom it is written, ‘BEHOLD, I SEND MY MESSENGER BEFORE YOUR FACE, WHO WILL PREPARE YOUR WAY BEFORE YOU.‘

    NKJV 10 “For this is he of whom it is written: ‘Behold, I send My messenger before Your face, Who will prepare Your way before You.’

    GNT 10 For John is the one of whom the scripture says: ‘God said, I will send my messenger ahead of you to open the way for you.’

    MSG 10 He is the prophet that Malachi announced when he wrote, ‘I’m sending my prophet ahead of you, to make the road smooth for you.’

    Mar 1:2

    KJV 2 As it is written in the prophets, Behold, I send my messenger before thy face, which shall prepare thy way before thee.

    ISV 2 As it is written in the prophet Isaiah, “See! I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way.

    HCSB 2 As it is written in Isaiah the prophet: Look, I am sending My messenger ahead of You, who will prepare Your way.

    ESV 2 As it is written in Isaiah the prophet, “Behold, I send my messenger before your face, who will prepare your way,

    NIV 2 It is written in Isaiah the prophet: “I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way”–

    TNIV 2 as it is written in Isaiah the prophet: “I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way” —

    NLT 2 just as the prophet Isaiah had written: “Look, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, and he will prepare your way①. / ①Mal 3.1

    NRSV 2 As it is written in the prophet Isaiah, “See, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way;

    NASB 2 As it is written in Isaiah the prophet, “BEHOLD, I SEND MY MESSENGER BEFORE YOUR FACE, WHO WILL PREPARE YOUR WAY;

    NKJV 2 As it is written in the Prophets: “Behold, I send My messenger before Your face, Who will prepare Your way before You.”

    GNT 2 It began as the prophet Isaiah had written: “God said, ‘I will send my messenger ahead of you to open the way for you.’

    MSG 2 following to the letter the scroll of the prophet Isaiah. Watch closely: I’m sending my preacher ahead of you; He’ll make the road smooth for you.

    Luk 7:27

    KJV 27 This is he, of whom it is written, Behold, I send my messenger before thy face, which shall prepare thy way before thee.

    ISV 27 This is the man about whom it is written, ‘See, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

    HCSB 27 This is the one it is written about: Look, I am sending My messenger ahead of You; he will prepare Your way before You.

    ESV 27 This is he of whom it is written, “‘Behold, I send my messenger before your face, who will prepare your way before you.’

    NIV 27 This is the one about whom it is written: “‘I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

    TNIV 27 This is the one about whom it is written: ” ‘I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

    NLT 27 John is the man to whom the Scriptures refer when they say, `Look, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, and he will prepare your way before you.’① / ①Mal 3.1

    NRSV 27 This is the one about whom it is written, ‘See, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

    NASB 27 “This is the one about whom it is written, ‘BEHOLD, I SEND MY MESSENGER BEFORE YOUR FACE, WHO WILL PREPARE YOUR WAY BEFORE YOU.’

    NKJV 27 “This is he of whom it is written: ‘Behold, I send My messenger before Your face, Who will prepare Your way before You.’

    GNT 27 For John is the one of whom the scripture says: ‘God said, I will send my messenger ahead of you to open the way for you.’

    MSG 27 He is the messenger Malachi announced when he wrote, I’m sending my messenger on ahead To make the road smooth for you.

    Adonai=Lord=예슈아 יֵשׁוּעַ Yeshua

    Gen 49:18 I haue waited for thy saluation, O LORD.

    Gen 49:18 I wait for your deliverance, Adonai.

    Gen 49:18 לישׁועתך קויתי יהוה׃

    Mat 1:1 ספר תולדת ישוע המשיח בן־דוד בן־אברהם׃
    Malachi 3:1 “I, MY, ME” Quotation Differ Mat 11:10 , Mar 1:2 , Luk 7:27 ‘ you, your’

Leave a Reply

