Don’t you sass me . . .!”

In the Beginning – (aka: B’resheet – Genesis), Adonai is walking in the garden.  He calls out looking for his creation, “Where are you?” He hears a voice – a voice that was afraid because he was naked.

Who told you that you were naked?  Did you eat from the tree which I commanded you not to eat from?

How do you think that scared little creation answered?  He blamed God!

Genesis 3:12 (CJB)

12 The man replied,

“The woman you gave to be with me —

she gave me fruit from the tree, and I ate.”

So it is God’s fault that man sinned?!? Adam was hoping God would accept that answer – that excuse. Problem is, he must have known that blaming God was not going to fly because he adds blame to Eve as well, she gave me fruit from the tree.”

It is not Adam’s fault – It is God’s and Eve’s fault!

My maternal grandmother would have called this “sassing!”  Sassing was talking back – it was disrespect.  Adam was “sassing” God.  When I was young, everything my grandmother had was called “good.” She had “good” scissors, “good” chairs, “good” tablecloths, “good” yardsticks . . .

One day, I did something wrong and she went for the yardstick.  I tried to run but she cut me off like a master ninja warrior.  With all the deftness required by those hooded assassins, she raised that wooded sword above her head and “WHACK!” She broke the yardstick on my backside!  “My GOOD yardstick!” she lamented – furious with me.  This is where things get a little blurry . . .  I wasn’t a very smart boy – I couldn’t of been because I answered back:

Do you have any yardsticks that AREN’T good?”

Things are blurry from here on out. The most I remember is that she now had the broken yardstick, one piece in each hand, wielding them both as a new ninja weapon.  She had forgot to put her teeth in that day, so she proceeded to tell me not to sass her as she whacked me with both pieces just as deftly as she had when it was a single “good” piece:

Don’t you “thath” me!”  she hissed

 

I miss her so much sometimes!  She was one of the toughest women that I have ever known.  One of the most giving too.  She owned some apartments in a bad section of Albuquerque.  She would often have to go to their doors to get the rent.  If she walked in and there was beer bottles lying around or people passed out drunk, they would be gone.  On the other hand, if she walked in and there was a baby or young children, she would tell them “rent was free” that month due to a special promotion she was having. She would then go to the grocery store and buy groceries.  She would bring it to them and tell them, “I bought some stuff on special and bought more than I can use.  It will just go to waste if you don’t take it!” It might be the only money she had and she would spend every last dime of it in helping others.  I tear up just thinking about the love and compassion she had for and showed to others.

I shouldn’t have sassed her.  It was disrespectful just like it was when Adam blamed God for his sin.  I wonder what would have happened if Adam had taken responsibility for his disobedience to God – right there – at that moment like David did?  If you don’t know the story, let’s look at it here:

2 Samuel 12:1-13 (CJB)

1 Adonai sent Natan to David. He came and said to him,

 “In a certain city there were two men, one rich, the other poor. 2 The rich man had vast flocks and herds; 3 but the poor man had nothing, except for one little ewe lamb, which he had bought and reared. It had grown up with him and his children; it ate from his plate, drank from his cup, lay on his chest — it was like a daughter to him. 4 One day a traveler visited the rich man, and instead of picking an animal from his own flock or herd to cook for his visitor, he took the poor man’s lamb and cooked it for the man who had come to him.”

5 David exploded with anger against the man and said to Natan,

“As Adonai lives, the man who did this deserves to die! 6 For doing such a thing, he has to pay back four times the value of the lamb — and also because he had no pity.”

7 Natan said to David,

 “You are the man. “Here is what Adonai, the God of Isra’el says: ‘I anointed you king over Isra’el. I rescued you from the power of Sha’ul. 8 I gave you your master’s house and your master’s wives to embrace. I gave you the house of Isra’el and the house of Y’hudah. And if that had been too little, I would have added to you a lot more. 9 “‘So why have you shown such contempt for the word of Adonai and done what I see as evil? You murdered Uriyah the Hitti with the sword and took his wife as your own wife; you put him to death with the sword of the people of ‘Amon. 10 Now therefore, the sword will never leave your house — because you have shown contempt for me and taken the wife of Uriyah the Hitti as your own wife.’ 11 Here is what Adonai says: ‘I will generate evil against you out of your own household. I will take your wives before your very eyes and give them to your neighbor; he will go to bed with your wives, and everyone will know about it. 12 For you did it secretly, but I will do this before all Isra’el in broad daylight.’”

13 David said to Natan,

 “I have sinned against Adonai.”

When confronted with his sin, David didn’t blame God and others – he confessed his sin.  However, there were still consequences for that sin:

2 Samuel 12:13-14 (CJB)

13 . . . Natan said to David,

“Adonai also has taken away your sin. You will not die.

14 However, because by this act

you have so greatly blasphemed Adonai,

the child born to you must die.”

We can even sass God with our complaints and doubts – Iyov (Job) did and he got one of the greatest “DON”T YOU SASS ME” responses in the text:

Job 38:1-11 (CJB)

1 Then Adonai answered Iyov out of the storm:

2 “Who is this, darkening my plans with his ignorant words?

3 Stand up like a man, and brace yourself;

I will ask questions; and you, give the answers!

4 “Where were you when I founded the earth?

Tell me, if you know so much.

5 Do you know who determined its dimensions

or who stretched the measuring line across it?

6 On what were its bases sunk, or who laid its cornerstone,

7 when the morning stars sang together,

and all the sons of God shouted for joy?

8 “Who shut up the sea behind closed doors

when it gushed forth from the womb,

9 when I made the clouds its blanket and dense fog its swaddling cloth,

10 when I made the breakers its boundary set its gates and bars,

11 and said, ‘You may come this far, but no farther;

here your proud waves must stop’?

Obviously, this is not the whole thing. I encourage you to read  all of  it – read it with authority when you do.  It is a beautiful example showing us how we often test God – God is not our enemy, He is a loving father – a father that sometimes has to discipline us because He loves us – that teaches us not to “sass” him in our words, actions and complaints.

Be Blessed all!

About Even If Ministries

Dani'el 3:17-18 (CJB) 17 Your majesty, if our God, whom we serve, is able to save us, he will save us from the blazing hot furnace and from your power. 18 But even if he doesn’t, we want you to know, your majesty, that we will neither serve your gods nor worship the gold statue which you have set up.”
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t you sass me . . .!”

  1. mimisuze says:

    Because that was my mother you were talking about, it made me laugh so hard I cried. But then, the part about David made me really cry……….if only we could all be so ready to repent and be accoutable for our disobedience………..
    No “sassing” allowed…..it only makes things worse and then takes us longer to receive the “lesson” He wants us to learn.
    (This will be one of my favorites….not just because of the Mom thing, but the lesson and instruction it contains.)

  2. I can hear her saying it too! “He is a loving father – a father that sometimes has to discipline us because He loves us – that teaches us not to “sass” him in our words, actions and complaints.” – this what I remind myself whenever I start to think I’m getting a raw deal…pretty sure a lot ot times when I am not happy with my circumstances that God is teaching and stretching me. I try at that point to “listen up”….

Leave a Reply

