JOHN: Old Testament quotes in the New Testament

One of the oldest fragments we have of the B’rit Hadasha (New Covenant – New Testament) is fragment P52.  It is also known as the Rylands fragment named so after John Rylands.  It was found in Egypt in the 1920s.  It resides in Manchester England at the John Rylands Library.

 

rylands p52

There are a couple of pages you can read about it in more detail if you wish:

 

http://www.kchanson.com/ancdocs/greek/johnpap.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rylands_Library_Papyrus_P52

 

I wont go into anymore detail because both of these are sites do a good job of explaining the fragment.

 

As you have probably realized, I intend to do all of the Older Covenant quotes in the New Covenant in an easy visual reference where the verse are listed and shown in their entirety so that you can check them easily.  I didn’t compile these lists, many scholars long before me did all the work.  However, few sites spell out the verses so that you can SEE without having to look them up to check.  I am doing them separately by book for easy future reference.  I am listing them in my “VERSES” folder to your right:

 

https://evenifministries.wordpress.com/category/verses/

I have done Matthew already:

 

https://evenifministries.wordpress.com/2012/11/01/but-it-also-says/

 

I have also done Mark:

 

https://evenifministries.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/mark-old-testament-quotes-in-the-new-testament/

 

and I have completed Luke as well:

 

https://evenifministries.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/luke-old-testament-quotes-in-the-new-testament/

 

So here is the last of the Gospels – Here is Yochanan (John):

John 1:51 (CJB) 51 Then he said to him, “Yes indeed! I tell you that you will see heaven opened and the angels of God going up and coming down on the Son of Man!” Genesis 28:12 (CJB) 12 He dreamt that there before him was a ladder resting on the ground with its top reaching to heaven, and the angels of Adonai were going up and down on it.
John 2:17 (CJB) 17 (His talmidim later recalled that the Tanakh says, “Zeal for your house will devour me.”) Psalm 69:9 (CJB) 9 because zeal for your house is eating me up, and on me are falling the insults of those insulting you.
John 6:31 (CJB) 31 Our fathers ate man in the desert — as it says in the Tanakh, ‘He gave them bread from heaven to eat.’ Psalm 78:24 (CJB) 24 He rained down man on them as food; he gave them grain from heaven —

Nehemiah 9:15 (CJB) 15 “‘For their hunger you gave them bread from heaven; for their thirst you brought forth for them water from the rock. You ordered them to enter and possess the land you had sworn with your hand to give them.

John 6:45 (CJB) 45 It is written in the Prophets, ‘They will all be taught by Adonai.’ Everyone who listens to the Father and learns from him comes to me. Isaiah 54:13 (CJB) 13 All your children will be taught by Adonai; your children will have great peace.
John 7:42 (CJB) 42 Doesn’t the Tanakh say that the Messiah is from the seed of David and comes from Beit-Lechem, the village where David lived?” 2 Samuel 7:12 (CJB) 12 When your days come to an end and you sleep with your ancestors, I will establish one of your descendants to succeed you, one of your own flesh and blood; and I will set up his rulership.

Micah 5:2 (CJB) 2 But you, Beit-Lechem near Efrat, so small among the clans of Y’hudah, out of you will come forth to me the future ruler of Isra’el, whose origins are far in the past, back in ancient times.

John 10:34 (CJB) 34 Yeshua answered them, “Isn’t it written in your Torah, ‘I have said, “You people are Elohim’”? Psalm 82:6 (CJB) 6 “My decree is: ‘You are elohim [gods, judges], sons of the Most High all of you.
John 12:13 (CJB) 13 They took palm branches and went out to meet him, shouting,

Deliver us!”

Blessed is he who comes in the name of Adonai, the King of Isra’el!”

Psalm 118:25-26 (CJB) 25 Please, Adonai! Save us! Please, Adonai! Rescue us!

26 Blessed is he who comes in the name of Adonai. We bless you from the house of Adonai.

John 12:15 (CJB) 15 Daughter of Tziyon, don’t be afraid! Look! your King is coming, sitting on a donkey’s colt.”

 

Zechariah 9:9 (CJB) 9 Rejoice with all your heart, daughter of Tziyon! Shout out loud, daughter of Yerushalayim! Look! Your king is coming to you. He is righteous, and he is victorious. Yet he is humble — he’s riding on a donkey, yes, on a lowly donkey’s colt.
John 12:38 (CJB) 38 in order that what Yesha‘yahu the prophet had said might be fulfilled,

Adonai, who has believed our report? To whom has the arm of Adonai been revealed?”

Isaiah 53:1 (CJB) 1 Who believes our report? To whom is the arm of Adonai revealed?
John 12:40 (CJB) 40 “He has blinded their eyes

and hardened their hearts,

so that they do not see with their eyes,

understand with their hearts,

and do t’shuvah,

so that I could heal them.”

 

Isaiah 6:10 (CJB) 10 “Make the heart of this people [sluggish with] fat,

stop up their ears, and shut their eyes.

Otherwise, seeing with their eyes,

and hearing with their ears, t

hen understanding with their hearts,

they might repent and be healed!”

John 13:18 (CJB) 18 “I’m not talking to all of you — I know which ones I have chosen. But the words of the Tanakh must be fulfilled that say, ‘The one eating my bread has turned against me.’ Psalm 41:9 (CJB) 9 Even my close friend, on whom I relied, who shared my table, has turned against me.
John 15:25 (CJB) 25 But this has happened in order to fulfill the words in their Torah which read,

They hated me for no reason at all.’

 

Psalm 35:19 (CJB) 19 Don’t let those who are wrongfully my enemies gloat over me; and those who hate me unprovoked — don’t let them smirk at me.

Psalm 69:4 (CJB) 4 Those who hate me for no reason outnumber the hairs on my head. My persecutors are powerful, my enemies accuse me falsely. Am I expected to return things I didn’t steal?

John 19:24 (CJB) 24 so they said to one another, “We shouldn’t tear it in pieces; let’s draw for it.” This happened in order to fulfill the words from the Tanakh,

 

“They divided my clothes among themselves

and gambled for my robe.”

This is why the soldiers did these things.

Psalm 22:18 (CJB) 18 They divide my garments among themselves; for my clothing they throw dice.
John 19:36 (CJB) 36 For these things happened in order to fulfill this passage of the Tanakh:

Not one of his bones will be broken.”

Psalm 34:20 (CJB) 20 He protects all his bones; not one of them gets broken.

Exodus 12:46 (CJB) 46 It is to be eaten in one house. You are not to take any of the meat outside the house, and you are not to break any of its bones.

Numbers 9:12 (CJB) 12 they are to leave none of it until morning, and they are not to break any of its bones — they are to observe it according to all the regulations of Pesach.

John 19:37 (CJB) 37 And again, another passage says,

They will look at him whom they have pierced.”

Zechariah 12:10 (CJB) 10 and I will pour out on the house of David and on those living in Yerushalayim a spirit of grace and prayer; and they will look to me, whom they pierced.” They will mourn for him as one mourns for an only son; they will be in bitterness on his behalf like the bitterness for a firstborn son.

 

About Even If Ministries

Dani'el 3:17-18 (CJB) 17 Your majesty, if our God, whom we serve, is able to save us, he will save us from the blazing hot furnace and from your power. 18 But even if he doesn’t, we want you to know, your majesty, that we will neither serve your gods nor worship the gold statue which you have set up.”
This entry was posted in Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to JOHN: Old Testament quotes in the New Testament

  1. jmbannister says:

    love how easy you have made this…nice work!

    May you always be overwhelmed by the Grace of God rather than by the cares of life!

    Date: Mon, 10 Dec 2012

Leave a Reply

