ACTS: Old Testament quotes in the New Testament

There are some really old biblical fragments that we have in our possession that tell us that the text of the bible is accurate.  This is important to point out because the B’rit Hadasha (New Testament) quotes the Tanakh (Old Testament) which we have even older fragments of.

 

I have a copy of a much older fragment of the text than the New testament ones.  It is a copy of  the oldest fragment we have and it is hanging on the wall in my living room.  It is a facsimile of the Ketef Hinnom silver scroll which has the Aaronic Blessing:  “The Lord bless you and keep you . . .”

 

Ketef%20Hinnom%200110[1]

 

You can purchase it here:

http://historicconnections.webs.com/biblicalarchaeology.htm

Before I share the quotes from the Tanakh in the book of Acts, I would like to share some of the papyrus fragments we have of the B’rit Hadasha (New Testament) text. I would love to get a copy of the last one I present – P91 because it is part of the text of the Acts 2:42 assembly.

Papyrus 29 or P29 is from around the 3rd century.  It contains:

 Acts 26:7-8 (CJB) 7 It is the fulfillment of this very promise that our twelve tribes hope to attain, as they resolutely carry on their acts of worship night and day; yet it is in connection with this hope, your Majesty, that I am being accused by Jews! 8 Why do you people consider it incredible that God raises the dead?

And

 Acts 26:20 (CJB) 20 On the contrary, I announced first in Dammesek, then in Yerushalayim and throughout Y’hudah, and also to the Goyim, that they should turn from their sins to God and then do deeds consistent with that repentance.

        •  It is ironic that in acts 26:20 above from the third century, part of repentance is doing “deeds” (works) consistent with that repentance.

Papyrus 38 or  P38 is also from around the 3rd century.  It contains:

 Acts 18:27-19:6 (CJB) 27 When he made plans to cross over into Achaia, the brothers encouraged him and wrote the talmidim there to welcome him. On arrival, he greatly helped those who through grace had come to trust; 28 for he powerfully and conclusively refuted the unbelieving Jews in public, demonstrating by the Tanakh that Yeshua is the Messiah.

1 While Apollos was in Corinth, Sha’ul completed his travels through the inland country and arrived at Ephesus, where he found a few talmidim. 2 He asked them, “Did you receive the Ruach HaKodesh when you came to trust?” “No,” they said to him, “we have never even heard that there is such a thing as the Ruach HaKodesh.” 3 “In that case,” he said, “into what were you immersed?” “The immersion of Yochanan,” they answered. 4 Sha’ul said, “Yochanan practiced an immersion in connection with turning from sin to God; but he told the people to put their trust in the one who would come after him, that is, in Yeshua.” 5 On hearing this, they were immersed into the name of the Lord Yeshua; 6 and when Sha’ul placed his hands on them, the Ruach HaKodesh came upon them; so that they began speaking in tongues and prophesying.

 

Papyrus 45 or  P45 is from around 2nd century can contains parts of each of the gospels and of Acts which is affectionately known as Luke’s 2nd book.  It contains Acts 4-17.  I have not included it here because it is such a big section.

 

Papyrus 48 or  P48 is is from around the 3rd century.  It contains:

 Acts 23:11-29 (CJB) 11 The following night, the Lord stood by him and said, “Take courage! For just as you have borne a faithful witness to me in Yerushalayim, so now you must bear witness in Rome.” 12 The next day, some of the Judeans formed a conspiracy. They took an oath, saying they would neither eat nor drink until they had killed Sha’ul; 13 more than forty were involved in this plot. 14 They went to the head cohanim and the elders and said, “We have bound ourselves by an oath to taste no food until we have killed Sha’ul. 15 What you are to do is make it appear to the commander that you and the Sanhedrin want to get more accurate information about Sha’ul’s case, so that he will bring him down to you; while we, for our part, are prepared to kill him before he ever gets here.” 16 But the son of Sha’ul’s sister got wind of the planned ambush, and he went into the barracks and told Sha’ul. 17 Sha’ul called one of the officers and said, “Take this man up to the commander; he has something to tell him.” 18 So he took him and brought him to the commander and said, “The prisoner Sha’ul called me and asked me to bring this young man to you, because he has something to tell you.” 19 The commander took him by the hand, led him aside privately and asked, “What is it you have to tell me?” 20 He said, “The Judeans have agreed to ask you tomorrow to bring Sha’ul down to the Sanhedrin on the pretext that they want to investigate his case more thoroughly. 21 But don’t let yourself be talked into it, because more than forty men are lying in wait for him. They have taken an oath neither to eat nor to drink until they kill him; and they are ready now, only waiting for you to give your consent to their request.”
22 The commander let the young man go, cautioning him, “Don’t tell anyone that you have reported this to me.” 23 Then he summoned two of the captains and said, “Get two hundred infantry soldiers ready to leave for Caesarea at nine o’clock tonight, and seventy mounted cavalry and two hundred spearmen; 24 also provide replacements for Sha’ul’s horse when it gets tired; and bring him through safely to Felix the governor.”
25 And the commander wrote the following letter: 26 From:Claudius Lysias To:His Excellency, Governor Felix: Greetings! 27 This man was seized by the Judeans and was about to be killed by them, when I came on the scene with my troops and rescued him. After learning that he was a Roman citizen, 28 I wanted to understand exactly what they were charging him with; so I brought him down to their “Sanhedrin.” 29 I found that he was charged in connection with questions of their “Torah” but that there was no charge deserving death or prison.

 

Papyrus 53 or  P53 is again from around the 3rd century.  It contains both Matthew and Acts.  The Acts it contains is:

 Acts 9:33-10:1 (CJB) 33 There he found a man named Aeneas who had lain bedridden for eight years, because he was paralyzed. 34 Kefa said to him, “Aeneas! Yeshua the Messiah is healing you! Get up, and make your bed!” 35 Everyone living in Lud and the Sharon saw him, and they turned to the Lord. Now in Yafo there was a talmidah named Tavita 36 (which means “gazelle”); she was always doing tzedakah and other good deeds. 37 It happened that just at that time, she took sick and died. After washing her, they laid her in a room upstairs. 38 Lud is near Yafo, and the talmidim had heard that Kefa was there, so they sent two men to him and urged him, “Please come to us without delay.” 39 Kefa got up and went with them. When he arrived, they led him into the upstairs room. All the widows stood by him, sobbing and showing all the dresses and coats Tavita had made them while she was still with them. 40 But Kefa put them all outside, kneeled down and prayed. Then, turning to the body, he said, “Tavita! Get up!” She opened her eyes; and on seeing Kefa, she sat up. 41 He offered her his hand and helped her to her feet; then, calling the believers and the widows, he presented her to them alive. 42 This became known all over Yafo, and many people put their trust in the Lord. 43 Kefa stayed on in Yafo for some time with a man named Shim‘on, a leather-tanner.

1 There was a man in Caesarea named Cornelius, a Roman army officer in what was called the Italian Regiment.

 

Papyrus 74 or  P74 has parts of Acts, Ya’akov (James), 1st Peter, 2nd Peter, 1st John, 2nd John, 3rd John, and Jude.  The Acts it contains is 1:2 – 28:31 which is quite large so I won’t put it here.

Papyrus 91 or  P91 is also from around the 3rd century. It contains:

 Acts 2:30-37 (CJB) 30 Therefore, since he was a prophet and knew that God had sworn an oath to him that one of his descendants would sit on his throne, 31 he was speaking in advance about the resurrection of the Messiah, that it was he who was not abandoned in Sh’ol and whose flesh did not see decay. 32 God raised up this Yeshua! And we are all witnesses of it! 33 “Moreover, he has been exalted to the right hand of God; has received from the Father what he promised, namely, the Ruach HaKodesh; and has poured out this gift, which you are both seeing and hearing. 34 For David did not ascend into heaven. But he says,

35 ‘Adonai said to my Lord,

“Sit at my right hand

until I make your enemies a footstool for your feet.”’

36 Therefore, let the whole house of Isra’el know beyond doubt that God has made him both Lord and Messiah — this Yeshua, whom you executed on a stake!” 37 On hearing this, they were stung in their hearts; and they said to Kefa and the other emissaries,“Brothers, what should we do?”

 and

 Acts 2:46-3:2 (CJB) 46 Continuing faithfully and with singleness of purpose to meet in the Temple courts daily, and breaking bread in their several homes, they shared their food in joy and simplicity of heart, 47 praising God and having the respect of all the people. And day after day the Lord kept adding to them those who were being saved.

1 One afternoon at three o’clock, the hour of minchah prayers, as Kefa and Yochanan were going up to the Temple, 2 a man crippled since birth was being carried in. Every day people used to put him at the Beautiful Gate of the Temple, so that he could beg from those going into the Temple court.

It is with this that I present quotes from the Tanakh in the B’rit Hadasha (Newer Covenant- New Testament):

Acts 1:20 (CJB) 20 “Now,” said Kefa, “it is written in the book of Psalms,

Let his estate become desolate,

let there be no one to live in it’;

 

and

 

Let someone else take his place as a supervisor.’

Psalm 69:25 (CJB) 25 Let the place where they live be desolate, with no one to live in their tents,

Psalm 109:8 (CJB) 8 May his days be few, may someone else take his position.

Acts 2:17-21 (CJB) 17 ‘Adonai says:

In the Last Days,

I will pour out from my Spirit upon everyone. Your sons and daughters will prophesy,

your young men will see visions,

your old men will dream dreams. 18 Even on my slaves, both men and women,

will I pour out from my Spirit in those days;

and they will prophesy. 19 I will perform miracles in the sky above

and signs on the earth below —

blood, fire and thick smoke. 20 The sun will become dark

and the moon blood

before the great and fearful Day of Adonai comes. 21 And then, whoever calls on the name of Adonai will be saved.”’

Joel 2:28-32 (CJB) 28 “After this, I will pour out my Spirit on all humanity. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions; 29 and also on male and female slaves in those days I will pour out my Spirit. 30 I will show wonders in the sky and on earth — blood, fire and columns of smoke. 31 The sun will be turned into darkness and the moon into blood before the coming of the great and terrible Day of Adonai.” 32 At that time, whoever calls on the name of Adonai will be saved. For in Mount Tziyon and Yerushalayim there will be those who escape, as Adonai has promised; among the survivors will be those whom Adonai has called.
Acts 2:25-28 (CJB) 25 For David says this about him:

 

I saw Adonai always before me,

for he is at my right hand,

so that I will not be shaken. 26 For this reason, my heart was glad;

and my tongue rejoiced;

and now my body too will live on in the certain hope 27 that you will not abandon me to Sh’ol

or let your Holy One see decay. 28 You have made known to me the ways of life; you will fill me with joy by your presence.’

Psalm 16:8-11 (CJB) 8 I always set Adonai before me;

with him at my right hand, I can never be moved; 9 so my heart is glad, my glory rejoices,

and my body too rests in safety; 10 for you will not abandon me to Sh’ol,

you will not let your faithful one see the Abyss. 11 You make me know the path of life;

in your presence is unbounded joy,

in your right hand eternal delight.

Acts 2:33 (CJB) 33 “Moreover, he has been exalted to the right hand of God; has received from the Father what he promised, namely, the Ruach HaKodesh; and has poured out this gift, which you are both seeing and hearing. Psalm 110:1 (CJB) 1 Adonai says to my Lord,

“Sit at my right hand,

until I make your enemies

your footstool.”

Acts 2:35 (CJB) 35 ‘Adonai said to my Lord,

Sit at my right hand

until I make your enemies a footstool for your feet.”’

Psalm 110:1 (CJB) 1 Adonai says to my Lord,

“Sit at my right hand,

until I make your enemies

your footstool.”

Acts 3:13 (CJB) 13 The God of Avraham, Yitz’chak and Ya‘akov, the God of our fathers, has glorified his servant Yeshua — the same Yeshua you handed over and disowned before Pilate, even after he had decided to release him. Exodus 3:6 (CJB) 6 I am the God of your father,” he continued, “the God of Avraham, the God of Yitz’chak and the God of Ya‘akov.” Moshe covered his face, because he was afraid to look at God.

Exodus 3:15 (CJB) 15 God said further to Moshe, “Say this to the people of Isra’el: ‘Yud-Heh-Vav-Heh [Adonai], the God of your fathers, the God of Avraham, the God of Yitz’chak and the God of Ya‘akov, has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever; this is how I am to be remembered generation after generation.

Acts 3:22-23 (CJB) 22 For Moshe himself said, ‘Adonai will raise up for you a prophet like me from among your brothers. You are to listen to everything he tells you. 23Everyone who fails to listen to that prophet will be removed from the people and destroyed.’ Deuteronomy 18:15-16 (CJB) 15 “Adonai will raise up for you a prophet like me from among yourselves, from your own kinsmen. You are to pay attention to him, 16 just as when you were assembled at Horev and requested Adonai your God, ‘Don’t let me hear the voice of Adonai my God any more, or let me see this great fire ever again; if I do, I will die!’
Acts 3:25 (CJB) 25 “You are the sons of the prophets; and you are included in the covenant which God made with our fathers when he said to Avraham,

 

By your seed will all the families of the earth be blessed.’

Genesis 22:18 (CJB) 18 and by your descendants all the nations of the earth will be blessed — because you obeyed my order.”

Genesis 26:4 (CJB) 4 I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky, I will give all these lands to your descendants, and by your descendants all the nations of the earth will bless themselves.

Acts 4:11 (CJB) 11 “This Yeshua is the stone rejected by you builders which has become the cornerstone. Psalm 118:22 (CJB) 22 The very rock that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone!
Acts 4:24 (CJB) 24 When they heard it, they raised their voices to God with singleness of heart. “Master,” they prayed,

 

“You made heaven, earth, the sea and everything in them.

Psalm 146:6 (CJB) 6 He made heaven and earth, the sea and everything in them; he keeps faith forever.
Acts 4:25-26 (CJB) 25 By the Ruach HaKodesh, through the mouth of our father David, your servant, you said,

 

Why did the nations rage

and the peoples devise useless plans? 26 The kings of the earth took their stand;

and the rulers assembled together

against Adonai and against his Messiah.’

Psalm 2:1-2 (CJB) 1 Why are the nations in an uproar,

the peoples grumbling in vain? 2 The earth’s kings are taking positions,

leaders conspiring together,

against Adonai

and his anointed.

Acts 5:30 (CJB) 30 The God of our fathers raised up Yeshua, whereas you men killed him by having him hanged on a stake. Exodus 3:15 (CJB) 15 God said further to Moshe, “Say this to the people of Isra’el: ‘Yud-Heh-Vav-Heh [Adonai], the God of your fathers, the God of Avraham, the God of Yitz’chak and the God of Ya‘akov, has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever; this is how I am to be remembered generation after generation.

Deuteronomy 21:22 (CJB) 22 (ii) “If someone has committed a capital crime and is put to death, then hung on a tree,

Acts 5:31 (CJB) 31 God has exalted this man at his right hand as Ruler and Savior, in order to enable Isra’el to do t’shuvah and have her sins forgiven. Psalm 110:1 (CJB) 1 Adonai says to my Lord, “Sit at my right hand, until I make your enemies your footstool.”
Acts 7:3 (CJB) 3 and said to him, ‘Leave your land and your family, and go into the land that I will show you.’ Genesis 12:1 (CJB) 1 Now Adonai said to Avram, “Get yourself out of your country, away from your kinsmen and away from your father’s house, and go to the land that I will show you.
Acts 7:5 (CJB) 5 He gave him no inheritance in it, not even space for one foot;

 

yet he promised to give it to him as a possession and to his descendants after him, even though at the time he was childless.

Deuteronomy 2:5 (CJB) 5 and don’t get into disputes with them; for I am not going to give you any of their land, no, not even enough for one foot to stand on; inasmuch as I have given Mount Se‘ir to ‘Esav as his possession.

Genesis 12:7 (CJB) 7 Adonai appeared to Avram and said, “To your descendants I will give this land.” So he built an altar there to Adonai, who had appeared to him.

Genesis 13:15 (CJB) 15 All the land you see I will give to you and your descendants forever,

Genesis 15:4 (CJB) 4 But the word of Adonai came to him: “This man will not be your heir. No, your heir will be a child from your own body.”

Genesis 15:7 (CJB) 7 (vi) Then he said to him, “I am Adonai, who brought you out from Ur-Kasdim to give you this land as your possession.”

Genesis 15:18-21 (CJB) 18 That day Adonai made a covenant with Avram: “I have given this land to your descendants — from the Vadi of Egypt to the great river, the Euphrates River — 19 the territory of the Keni, the K’nizi, the Kadmoni, 20 the Hitti, the P’rizi, the Refa’im, 21 the Emori, the Kena‘ani, the Girgashi and the Y’vusi.”

 

Genesis 17:8 (CJB) 8 I will give you and your descendants after you the land in which you are now foreigners, all the land of Kena‘an, as a permanent possession; and I will be their God.”

Genesis 24:7 (CJB) 7 Adonai, the God of heaven — who took me away from my father’s house and away from the land I was born in, who spoke to me and swore to me, ‘I will give this land to your descendants’—he will send his angel ahead of you; and you are to bring a wife for my son from there.

Genesis 48:4 (CJB) 4 saying to me, ‘I will make you fruitful and numerous. I will make of you a group of peoples; and I will give this land to your descendants to possess forever.’

Acts 7:6-7 (CJB) 6 What God said to him was,

 

Your descendants will be aliens in a foreign land, where they will be in slavery and oppressed for four hundred years.

7 But I will judge the nation that enslaves them,’ God said,

 

and afterwards they will leave and worship me in this place.’

Genesis 15:13-14, 16 (CJB) 13 Adonai said to Avram, “Know this for certain: your descendants will be foreigners in a land that is not theirs. They will be slaves and held in oppression there four hundred years. 14 But I will also judge that nation, the one that makes them slaves. Afterwards, they will leave with many possessions. 16 Only in the fourth generation will your descendants come back here, because only then will the Emori be ripe for punishment.”
Acts 7:9 (CJB) 9 “Now the Patriarchs grew jealous of Yosef and sold him into slavery in Egypt. But Adonai was with him; Genesis 37:11 (CJB) 11 His brothers were jealous of him, but his father kept the matter in mind.

Genesis 37:28 (CJB) 28 So when the Midyanim, merchants, passed by, they drew and lifted Yosef up out of the cistern and sold him for half a pound of silver shekels to the Yishma‘elim, who took Yosef on to Egypt.

Genesis 39:1-3 (CJB) 1 (v) Yosef was brought down to Egypt, and Potifar, an officer of Pharaoh’s and captain of the guard, an Egyptian, bought him from the Yishma‘elim who had brought him there. 2 Adonai was with Yosef, and he became wealthy while he was in the household of his master the Egyptian. 3 His master saw how Adonai was with him, that Adonai prospered everything he did.

Genesis 39:21 (CJB) 21 But Adonai was with Yosef, showing him grace and giving him favor in the sight of the prison warden.

Genesis 39:23 (CJB) 23 The prison warden paid no attention to anything Yosef did, because Adonai was with him; and whatever he did, Adonai prospered.

Acts 7:10 (CJB) 10 he rescued him from all his troubles and gave him favor and wisdom before Pharaoh, king of Egypt, who appointed him chief administrator over Egypt and over all his household. Genesis 41:37-44 (CJB) 37 The proposal seemed good both to Pharaoh and to all his officials. 38 Pharaoh said to his officials, “Can we find anyone else like him? The Spirit of God lives in him!” 39 (iii) So Pharaoh said to Yosef, “Since God has shown you all this — there is no one as discerning and wise as you — 40 you will be in charge of my household; all my people will be ruled by what you say. Only when I rule from my throne will I be greater than you.” 41 Pharaoh said to Yosef, “Here, I place you in charge of the whole land of Egypt.” 42 Pharaoh took his signet ring off his hand and put it on Yosef’s hand, had him clothed in fine linen with a gold chain around his neck 43 and had him ride in his second best chariot; and they cried before him, “Bow down!” Thus he placed him in charge of the whole land of Egypt. 44 Pharaoh said to Yosef, “I, Pharaoh, decree that without your approval no one is to raise his hand or his foot in all the land of Egypt.”
Acts 7:11 (CJB) 11Now there came a famine that caused much suffering throughout Egypt and Kena‘an Genesis 41:54 (CJB) 54 and the seven years of famine began to come, just as Yosef had said. There was famine in all lands, but throughout the land of Egypt there was food.

Genesis 42:5 (CJB) 5 The sons of Isra’el came to buy along with the others that came, since the famine extended to the land of Kena‘an.

Acts 7:13 (CJB) 13 The second time, Yosef revealed his identity to his brothers, and Yosef’s family became known to Pharaoh. Genesis 45:1 (CJB) 1 At last Yosef could no longer control his feelings in front of his attendants and cried, “Get everybody away from me!” So no one else was with him when Yosef revealed to his brothers who he was.
Acts 7:17-18 (CJB) 17 “As the time drew near for the fulfillment of the promise God had made to Avraham, the number of our people in Egypt increased greatly, 18 until there arose another king over Egypt who had no knowledge of Yosef. Exodus 1:7-8 (CJB) 7 The descendants of Isra’el were fruitful, increased abundantly, multiplied and grew very powerful; the land became filled with them. 8 Now there arose a new king over Egypt. He knew nothing about Yosef
Acts 7:27-28 (CJB) 27 the one who was mistreating his fellow pushed Moshe away and said, ‘Who made you a ruler and judge over us? 28 Do you want to kill me, the way you killed that Egyptian yesterday?’ Exodus 2:14 (CJB) 14 He retorted, “Who appointed you ruler and judge over us? Do you intend to kill me the way you killed the Egyptian?” Moshe became frightened. “Clearly,” he thought, “the matter has become known.”
Acts 7:30-34 (CJB) 30 “After forty more years, an angel appeared to him in the desert near Mount Sinai in the flames of a burning thorn bush. 31 When Moshe saw this, he was amazed at the sight; and as he approached to get a better look, there came the voice of Adonai, 32 ‘I am the God of your fathers, the God of Avraham, Yitz’chak and Ya‘akov.’ But Moshe trembled with fear and didn’t dare to look. 33 Adonai said to him, ‘Take off your sandals, because the place where you are standing is holy ground. 34 I have clearly seen how My people are being oppressed in Egypt, I have heard their cry, and I have come down to rescue them, and now I will send you to Egypt.’ Exodus 3:1-2 (CJB) 1 (iv) Now Moshe was tending the sheep of Yitro his father-in-law, the priest of Midyan. Leading the flock to the far side of the desert, he came to the mountain of God, to Horev. 2 The angel of Adonai appeared to him in a fire blazing from the middle of a bush. He looked and saw that although the bush was flaming with fire, yet the bush was not being burned up.

 

Acts 7:35 (CJB) 35 “This Moshe, whom they rejected, saying, ‘Who made you a ruler and judge?’ is the very one whom God sent as both ruler and ransomer by means of the angel that appeared to him in the thorn bush. Exodus 2:14 (CJB) 14 He retorted, “Who appointed you ruler and judge over us? Do you intend to kill me the way you killed the Egyptian?” Moshe became frightened. “Clearly,” he thought, “the matter has become known.”
Acts 7:37 (CJB) 37 This is the Moshe who said to the people of Isra’el, ‘God will raise up a prophet like me from among your brothers’ Deuteronomy 18:15 (CJB) 15 “Adonai will raise up for you a prophet like me from among yourselves, from your own kinsmen. You are to pay attention to him,
Acts 7:40 (CJB) 40 saying to Aharon, ‘Make us some gods to lead us; because this Moshe, who led us out of Egypt — we don’t know what has become of him.’ Exodus 32:1 (CJB) 1 When the people saw that Moshe was taking a long time to come down from the mountain, they gathered around Aharon and said to him, “Get busy; and make us gods to go ahead of us; because this Moshe, the man that brought us up from the land of Egypt — we don’t know what has become of him.”

Exodus 32:23 (CJB) 23 So they said to me, ‘Make us gods to go ahead of us; because this Moshe, the man that brought us up from the land of Egypt — we don’t know what has become of him.’

Acts 7:42-43 (CJB) 42 So God turned away from them and gave them over to worship the stars — as has been written in the book of the prophets,

 

People of Isra’el, it was not to me

that you offered slaughtered animals

and sacrifices for forty years in the wilderness! 43 No, you carried the tent of Molekh

and the star of your god Reifan,

the idols you made so that you could worship them.

Therefore, I will send you into exile beyond Bavel.’

Jeremiah 19:13 (CJB) 13 The houses of Yerushalayim and those of the kings of Y’hudah will be defiled like this place Tofet — yes, all the houses on whose roofs they have offered to all the stars in heaven and poured out drink offerings to other gods.’”

Amos 5:25-27 (CJB) 25 Did you bring me sacrifices and offerings

in the desert forty years, house of Isra’el? 26 No, but now you will bear Sikkut as your king and Kiyun, your images,

the star of your god, which you made for yourselves; 27 as I exile you beyond Dammesek,”

says Adonai Elohei-Tzva’ot

that is his name.

Acts 7:49-50 (CJB) 49 ‘Heaven is my throne,’ says Adonai,

and the earth is my footstool.

What kind of house could you build for me?

What kind of place could you devise for my rest? 50 Didn’t I myself make all these things?’

Isaiah 66:1-2 (CJB) 1 “Heaven is my throne,” says Adonai,

“and the earth is my footstool.

What kind of house could you build for me?

What sort of place could you devise for my rest? 2 Didn’t I myself make all these things?

This is how they all came to be,”

says Adonai.

“The kind of person on whom I look with favor

is one with a poor and humble spirit,

who trembles at my word.

Acts 7:51 (CJB) 51 Stiffnecked people,

 

with uncircumcised hearts and ears!

 

You continually oppose the Ruach HaKodesh! You do the same things your fathers did!

Exodus 32:9 (CJB) 9 Adonai continued speaking to Moshe: “I have been watching these people; and you can see how stiffnecked they are.

Exodus 33:3 (CJB) 3 You will go to a land flowing with milk and honey; but I myself will not go with you, because you are such a stiffnecked people that I might destroy you on the way.”

Exodus 33:5 (CJB) 5 Adonai said to Moshe, “Tell the people of Isra’el, ‘You are a stiffnecked people! If I were to go up with you for even one moment, I would exterminate you! Now, keep your ornaments off; then I will decide what to do to you.’”

Leviticus 26:41 (CJB) 41 At that time I will be going against them, bringing them into the lands of their enemies. But if their uncircumcised hearts will grow humble, and they are paid the punishment for their misdeeds;

Jeremiah 6:10 (CJB) 10 To whom should I speak? Whom should I warn? Who will listen to me? Their ears are dull, they can’t pay attention. For them the word of Adonai has become unattractive, an object of scorn.

Jeremiah 9:25 (CJB) 25 “The days are coming,” says Adonai, “when I will punish all those who have been circumcised in their uncircumcision —

Isaiah 63:10 (CJB) 10 However, they rebelled, they grieved his Holy Spirit; so he became their enemy and himself fought against them.

Acts 7:55-56 (CJB) 55 But he, full of the Ruach HaKodesh, looked up to heaven and saw God’s Sh’khinah, with Yeshua standing at the right hand of God. 56 “Look!” he exclaimed, “I see heaven opened and the Son of Man standing at the right hand of God!” Psalm 110:1 (CJB) 1 Adonai says to my Lord, “Sit at my right hand, until I make your enemies your footstool.”
Acts 8:32-33 (CJB) 32 Now the portion of the Tanakh that he was reading was this:

 

He was like a sheep led to be slaughtered;

like a lamb silent before the shearer, he does not open his mouth. 33 He was humiliated and denied justice.

Who will tell about his descendants,

since his life has been taken from the earth?”

Isaiah 53:7-8 (CJB) 7 Though mistreated, he was submissive—

he did not open his mouth.

Like a lamb led to be slaughtered,

like a sheep silent before its shearers,

he did not open his mouth. 8 After forcible arrest and sentencing,

he was taken away;

and none of his generation protested

his being cut off from the land of the living

for the crimes of my people,

who deserved the punishment themselves.

Acts 10:39 (CJB) 39 “As for us, we are witnesses of everything he did, both in the Judean countryside and in Yerushalayim. They did away with him by hanging him on a stake; Deuteronomy 21:23 (CJB) 23 his body is not to remain all night on the tree, but you must bury him the same day, because a person who has been hanged has been cursed by God — so that you will not defile your land, which Adonai your God is giving you to inherit.
Acts 13:10 (CJB) 10 “You son of Satan, full of fraud and evil! You enemy of everything good! Won’t you ever stop making crooked the straight paths of the Lord? Proverbs 10:9 (CJB) 9 He who walks purely walks securely, but he who walks in crooked ways will be found out.
Acts 13:17 (CJB) 17 The God of this people Isra’el chose our fathers. He made the people great during the time when they were living as aliens in Egypt and with a stretched-out arm he led them out of that land. Exodus 6:6 (CJB) 6 “Therefore, say to the people of Isra’el: ‘I am Adonai. I will free you from the forced labor of the Egyptians, rescue you from their oppression, and redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great judgments.

Exodus 12:51 (CJB) 51 On that very day, Adonai brought the people of Isra’el out of the land of Egypt by their divisions.

Acts 13:18 (CJB) 18 For some forty years he took care of them in the desert, Exodus 16:35 (CJB) 35 The people of Isra’el ate man for forty years, until they came to an inhabited land. They ate man until they arrived at the borders of the land of Kena‘an.

Numbers 14:34 (CJB) 34 It will be a year for every day you spent reconnoitering the land that you will bear the consequences of your offenses — forty days, forty years. Then you will know what it means to oppose me!

Acts 13:19 (CJB) 19 and after he had destroyed seven nations in the land of Kena‘an he gave their land to his people as an inheritance. Deuteronomy 7:1 (CJB) 1 (vii) “Adonai your God is going to bring you into the land you will enter in order to take possession of it, and he will expel many nations ahead of you — the Hitti, Girgashi, Emori, Kena‘ani, P’rizi, Hivi and Y’vusi, seven nations bigger and stronger than you.
Acts 13:20 (CJB) 20 All this took about 450 years. After that, he gave them judges, down to the prophet Sh’mu’el. Judges 2:16 (CJB) 16 But then Adonai raised up judges, who rescued them from the power of those who were plundering them.
Acts 13:22 (CJB) 22 God removed him and raised up David as king for them, making his approval known with these words, ‘I found David Ben-Yishai to be a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want.’ Psalm 89:20 (CJB) 20 I have found David my servant and anointed him with my holy oil.

1 Samuel 13:14 (CJB) 14 But as it is, your kingship will not be established. Adonai has sought for himself a man after his own heart, and Adonai has appointed him to be prince over his people, because you did not observe what Adonai ordered you to do.”

Acts 13:29 (CJB) 29 and when they had carried out all the things written about him, he was taken down from the stake and placed in a tomb. Deuteronomy 21:23 (CJB) 23 his body is not to remain all night on the tree, but you must bury him the same day, because a person who has been hanged has been cursed by God — so that you will not defile your land, which Adonai your God is giving you to inherit.
Acts 13:33 (CJB) 33 he has fulfilled for us the children in raising up Yeshua, as indeed it is written in the second Psalm,

You are my Son;

today I have become your Father.’

Psalm 2:7 (CJB) 7 “I will proclaim the decree:

Adonai said to me,

‘You are my son;

today I became your father.

Acts 13:34 (CJB) 34 And as for his raising him up from the dead, to return to decay no more, he said,

 

I will give the holy and trustworthy things of David to you.’

Isaiah 55:3 (CJB) 3 Open your ears, and come to me;

listen well, and you will live—

I will make an everlasting covenant with you,

the grace I assured David.

Acts 13:35 (CJB) 35 This is explained elsewhere:

 

You will not let your Holy One see decay.’

 

Acts 13:36-37 (CJB) 36 For David did indeed serve God’s purposes in his own generation; but after that, he died, was buried with his fathers and did see decay. 37 However, the one God raised up did not see decay.

Psalm 16:10 (CJB) 10 for you will not abandon me to Sh’ol, you will not let your faithful one see the Abyss.
Acts 13:41 (CJB) 41 ‘You mockers! Look, and marvel, and die!

For in your own time, I am doing a work

that you simply will not believe,

even if someone explains it to you!’”

 

Habakkuk 1:5 (CJB) 5 “Look around among the nations!

What you see will completely astound you!

For what is going to be done in your days

you will not believe, even when you are told.

Acts 13:47 (CJB) 47 For that is what Adonai has ordered us to do:

I have set you as a light for the Goyim,

to be for deliverance to the ends of the earth.’”

 

Isaiah 49:6 (CJB) 6 he has said, “It is not enough

that you are merely my servant

to raise up the tribes of Ya‘akov

and restore the offspring of Isra’el.

I will also make you a light to the nations,

so my salvation can spread to the ends of the earth.”

Acts 14:15 (CJB) 15 “Men! Why are you doing this? We’re just men, human like you! We are announcing Good News to you — turn from these worthless things to the living God who made heaven and earth and the sea and everything in them! Psalm 146:6 (CJB) 6 He made heaven and earth,

the sea and everything in them;

he keeps faith forever.

Acts 15:16-18 (CJB) 16‘“After this, I will return;

and I will rebuild the fallen tent of David.

I will rebuild its ruins,

I will restore it, 17 so that the rest of mankind may seek the Lord, that is, all the Goyim who have been called by my name,” 18 says Adonai, who is doing these things.’

All this has been known for ages.

Amos 9:11-12 (CJB) 11 “When that day comes, I will raise up

the fallen sukkah of David.

I will close up its gaps, raise up its ruins

and rebuild it as it used to be, 12 so that Isra’el can possess

what is left of Edom

and of all the nations bearing my name,”

says Adonai, who is doing this.

Acts 22:14 (CJB) 14 He said, ‘The God of our fathers determined in advance that you should know his will, see the Tzaddik and hear his voice; Exodus 3:15 (CJB) 15 God said further to Moshe, “Say this to the people of Isra’el: ‘Yud-Heh-Vav-Heh [Adonai], the God of your fathers, the God of Avraham, the God of Yitz’chak and the God of Ya‘akov, has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever; this is how I am to be remembered generation after generation.
Acts 23:5 (CJB) 5 Sha’ul said, “I didn’t know, brothers, that he was the cohen hagadol; for it says in the Torah,

You are not to speak disparagingly of a ruler of your people.’”

Exodus 22:28 (CJB) 28 (iv) “You are not to curse God, and you are not to curse a leader of your people.

 

Acts 24:14 (CJB) 14 “But this I do admit to you: I worship the God of our fathers in accordance with the Way (which they call a sect). I continue to believe everything that accords with the Torah and everything written in the Prophets. Exodus 3:15 (CJB) 15 God said further to Moshe, “Say this to the people of Isra’el: ‘Yud-Heh-Vav-Heh [Adonai], the God of your fathers, the God of Avraham, the God of Yitz’chak and the God of Ya‘akov, has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever; this is how I am to be remembered generation after generation.
Acts 28:26-27 (CJB) 26 ‘Go to this people and say,

 

You will keep on hearing but never understand, and you will keep on seeing but never perceive, 27 because the heart of this people has grown thick —

with their ears they barely hear,

and their eyes they have closed,

for fear that they should see with their eyes,

hear with their ears,

understand with their heart,

and do t’shuvah,

so that I could heal them.”’

Isaiah 6:9-10 (CJB) 9 He said, “Go and tell this people:

 

‘Yes, you hear, but you don’t understand.

You certainly see, but you don’t get the point!’ 10 “Make the heart of this people [sluggish with] fat,

stop up their ears, and shut their eyes.

Otherwise, seeing with their eyes,

and hearing with their ears,

then understanding with their hearts,

they might repent and be healed!”

 

About Even If Ministries

Dani'el 3:17-18 (CJB) 17 Your majesty, if our God, whom we serve, is able to save us, he will save us from the blazing hot furnace and from your power. 18 But even if he doesn’t, we want you to know, your majesty, that we will neither serve your gods nor worship the gold statue which you have set up.”
This entry was posted in Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

