1 QUESTION QUIZ

1 question quiz

I have a 1 QUESTION quiz for you.

It will not be a wasted effort, I promise 🙂

We are going to look at some verses in the text concerning a specific Hebrew word.  You may or may not have heard this Hebrew word before.  You may or may not understand the significance of this Hebrew word.

Some of you may know this word . . . or think you do.

What I want you to do is read and see if you can come up with what it means WITHOUT using a dictionary or commentary.  I want you to do this based solely on the verses below where I inserted the Hebrew word in place of the English word that translated it.

At first you may not get it (stick with it though because it is worth it) – then again, maybe you will.

The word that is inserted is Yeshua (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Phonetically: yesh-oo’-ah

Take notes as you do this quiz so that you have them when you make your determination at the end.

Israel’ Prophecy concerning His Sons:

Genesis 49:18 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

18  “For Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) I wait, O LORD.

The Sea Is Divided:

Exodus 14:13 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

13  But Moses said to the people, “Do not fear! Stand by and see the (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of the LORD which He will accomplish for you today; for the Egyptians whom you have seen today, you will never see them again forever.

The Song of Moses and Israel:

Exodus 15:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

2  “The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh); This is my God, and I will praise Him; My father’s God, and I will extol Him.

The Song of Moses:

Deuteronomy 32:15 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

15  “But Jeshurun grew fat and kicked— You are grown fat, thick, and sleek— Then he forsook God who made him, And scorned the Rock of his (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Hannah’s Song of Thanksgiving:

1 Samuel 2:1 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

1  Then Hannah prayed and said, “My heart exults in the LORD; My horn is exalted in the LORD, My mouth speaks boldly against my enemies, Because I rejoice in Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Saul’s Foolish Order:

1 Samuel 14:45 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

45  But the people said to Saul, “Must Jonathan die, who has brought about this great (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) in Israel? Far from it! As the LORD lives, not one hair of his head shall fall to the ground, for he has worked with God this day.” So the people rescued Jonathan and he did not die.

Ammon and Aram Defeated:

2 Samuel 10:11 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

11  He said, “If the Arameans are too strong for me, then you shall (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) me, but if the sons of Ammon are too strong for you, then I will come to (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) you.

David’s Psalm of Deliverance:

2 Samuel 22:51 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

51  “He is a tower of (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) to His king, And shows lovingkindness to His (שִׁיחַ‎māshîach), To David and his descendants forever.”

(A Tent for the Ark) Psalm of Thanksgiving:

1 Chronicles 16:23 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

23  Sing to the LORD, all the earth; Proclaim good tidings of His (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) from day to day.

Jahaziel Answers the Prayer:

2 Chronicles 20:17 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

17  ~’You need not fight in this battle; station yourselves, stand and see the (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of the LORD on your behalf, O Judah and Jerusalem.’ Do not fear or be dismayed; tomorrow go out to face them, for the LORD is with you.”

Job is Sure He Will Be Vindicated:

Job 13:16 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

16  “This also will be my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), For a godless man may not come before His presence.

Job’s Present State Is Humiliating:

Job 30:15 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

15  “Terrors are turned against me; They pursue my honor as the wind, And my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) has passed away like a cloud.

Morning Prayer of Trust in God:

Psalm 3:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

2  Many are saying of my soul, “There is no (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) for him in God.” Selah.

Psalm 3:8 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

8  (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) belongs to the LORD; Your blessing be upon Your people! Selah.

A Psalm of Thanksgiving for God’s Justice:

Psalm 9:14 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

14  That I may tell of all Your praises, That in the gates of the daughter of Zion I may rejoice in Your  (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Prayer for Help in Trouble:

Psalm 13:5 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

5  But I have trusted in Your lovingkindness; My heart shall rejoice in Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Folly and Wickedness of Men:

Psalm 14:7 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

7  Oh, that the (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of Israel would come out of Zion! When the LORD restores His captive people, Jacob will rejoice, Israel will be glad.

The LORD Praised for Giving Deliverance:

Psalm 18:50 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

50  He gives great (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) to His king, And shows lovingkindness to His (שִׁיחַ‎māshîach), To David and his descendants forever.

Prayer for Victory over Enemies:

Psalm 20:5 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

5  We will sing for joy over your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), And in the name of our God we will set up our banners. May the LORD fulfill all your petitions.

Praise for Deliverance:

Psalm 21:1 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

1  O LORD, in Your strength the king will be glad, And in Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) how greatly he will rejoice!

Psalm 21:5 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

5  His glory is great through Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), Splendor and majesty You place upon him.

A Cry of Anguish and a Song of Praise:

Psalm 22:1 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

1  My God, my God, why have You forsaken me? Far from my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) are the words of my groaning.

A Prayer for Help, and Praise for Its Answer:

Psalm 28:8 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

8  The LORD is their strength, And He is a (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) defense to His (שִׁיחַ‎māshîach).

Prayer for Rescue from Enemies:

Psalm 35:3 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

3  Draw also the spear and the battle-axe to meet those who pursue me; Say to my soul, “I am your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).”

Psalm 35:9 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

9  And my soul shall rejoice in the LORD; It shall exult in His (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Thirsting for God in Trouble and Exile:

Psalm 42:5 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

5  Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him For the (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of His presence.

Psalm 42:11 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

11  Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him, The (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of my countenance and my God.

Prayer for Deliverance:

Psalm 43:5 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

5  Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why are you disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him, The (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of my countenance and my God.

Former Deliverances and Present Troubles:

Psalm 44:4 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

4  You are my King, O God; Command (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) for Jacob.

Folly and Wickedness of Men:

Psalm 53:6 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

6  Oh, that the (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of Israel would come out of Zion! When God restores His captive people, Let Jacob rejoice, let Israel be glad.

God Alone a Refuge from Treachery and Oppression:

Psalm 62:1 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

1  My soul waits in silence for God only; From Him is my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Psalm 62:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

2  He only is my rock and my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), My stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken.

Psalm 62:7 (NASB – (יֵשַׁע‎ yfishaʿ) – yēshaʿinserted)

7  On God my (‏יֵשַׁע‎ yfishaʿyēshaʿ) and my glory rest; The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God.

The Nations Exhorted to Praise God:

Psalm 67:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

2  That Your way may be known on the earth, Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) among all nations.

The God of Sinai and of the Sanctuary:

Psalm 68:19 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

19  Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears our burden, The God who is our (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh). Selah.

A Cry of Distress and Imprecation on Adversaries:

Psalm 69:29 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

29  But I am afflicted and in pain; May Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), O God, set me securely on high.

Prayer for Help against Persecutors:

Psalm 70:4 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

4  Let all who seek You rejoice and be glad in You; And let those who love Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) say continually, “Let God be magnified.”

An Appeal against the Devastation of the Land by the Enemy;

Psalm 74:12 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

12  Yet God is my king from of old, Who works deeds of (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) in the midst of the earth.

God’s Guidance of His People in Spite of Their Unfaithfulness:

Psalm 78:22 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

22  Because they did not believe in God And did not trust in His (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

God Implored to Rescue His People from Their Calamities:

Psalm 80:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

2  Before Ephraim and Benjamin and Manasseh, stir up Your power And come to (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) us!

A Petition to Be Saved from Death:

Psalm 88:1 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

1  O LORD, the God of my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), I have cried out by day and in the night before You.

The LORD’S Covenant with David, and Israel’s Afflictions:

Psalm 89:26 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

26  “He will cry to Me, ‘You are my Father, My God, and the rock of my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).’

Security of the One Who Trusts in the LORD:

Psalm 91:16 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

16  “With a long life I will satisfy him And let him see My (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).”

A Call to Worship the LORD the Righteous Judge:

Psalm 96:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

2  Sing to the LORD, bless His name; Proclaim good tidings of His (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) from day to day.

A Call to Praise the LORD for His Righteousness:

Psalm 98:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

2  The LORD has made known His (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh); He has revealed His righteousness in the sight of the nations.

Psalm 98:3 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

3  He has remembered His lovingkindness and His faithfulness to the house of Israel; All the ends of the earth have seen the (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of our God.

Israel’s Rebelliousness and the LORD’S Deliverances:

Psalm 106:4 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

4  Remember me, O LORD, in Your favor toward Your people; Visit me with Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh),

Thanksgiving for Deliverance from Death:

Psalm 116:13 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

13  I shall lift up the cup of (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) And call upon the name of the LORD.

Thanksgiving for the LORD’S Saving Goodness:

Psalm 118:14 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

14  The LORD is my strength and song, And He has become my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Psalm 118:15 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

15  The sound of joyful shouting and (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) is in the tents of the righteous; The right hand of the LORD does valiantly.

Psalm 118:21 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

21  I shall give thanks to You, for You have answered me, And You have become my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Meditations and Prayers Relating to the Law of God:

Ayin

Psalm 119:123 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

123  My eyes fail with longing for Your  (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) And for Your righteous word.

Resh

Psalm 119:155 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

155  (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) is far from the wicked, For they do not seek Your statutes.

Shin

Psalm 119:166 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

166  I hope for Your (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), O LORD, And do Your commandments.

Prayer for Protection against the Wicked:

Psalm 140:7 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

7  “O GOD the Lord, the strength of my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), You have covered my head in the day of battle.

Israel Invoked to Praise the LORD:

Psalm 149:4 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

4  For the LORD takes pleasure in His people;

He will beautify the afflicted ones with (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Thanksgiving Expressed:

Isaiah 12:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

2  “Behold, God is my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), I will trust and not be afraid; For the LORD GOD is my strength and song, And He has become my (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).”

Isaiah 12:3 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

3  Therefore you will joyously draw water From the springs of (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Song of Praise for God’s Favor:

Isaiah 25:9 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

9  And it will be said in that day, “Behold, this is our God for whom we have waited that He might save us. This is the LORD for whom we have waited; Let us rejoice and be glad in His (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).”

Song of Trust in God’s Protection:

Isaiah 26:1 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

1  In that day this song will be sung in the land of Judah: “We have a strong city; He sets up walls and ramparts for (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh).

Isaiah 26:18 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

18  We were pregnant, we writhed in labor, We gave birth, as it seems, only to wind. We could not accomplish (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) for the earth, Nor were inhabitants of the world born.

The Judgment of God:

Isaiah 33:2 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

2  O LORD, be gracious to us; we have waited for You. Be their strength every morning, Our (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) also in the time of distress.

Isaiah 33:6 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

6  And He will be the stability of your times, A wealth of (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), wisdom and knowledge; The fear of the LORD is his treasure.

Salvation Reaches to the End of the Earth:

Isaiah 49:6 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

6  He says, “It is too small a thing that You should be My Servant To raise up the tribes of Jacob and to restore the preserved ones of Israel;

I will also make You a light of the nations So that My (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) may reach to the end of the earth.”

Isaiah 49:8 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

8  Thus says the LORD, “In a favorable time I have answered You, And in a day of (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) I have helped You; And I will keep You and give You for a covenant of the people, To restore the land, to make them inherit the desolate heritages;

Israel Exhorted:

Isaiah 51:6 (NASB – (יֵשַׁע‎ yfishaʿ) – yēshaʿinserted)

6  “Lift up your eyes to the sky, Then look to the earth beneath; For the sky will vanish like smoke, And the earth will wear out like a garment And its inhabitants will die in like manner;

But My (‏יֵשַׁע‎ yfishaʿyēshaʿ) will be forever, And My righteousness will not wane.

 Isaiah 51:8 (NASB – (יֵשַׁע‎ yfishaʿ) – yēshaʿinserted)

8  “For the moth will eat them like a garment, And the grub will eat them like wool. But My righteousness will be forever, And My (‏יֵשַׁע‎ yfishaʿyēshaʿ) to all generations.”

Cheer for Prostrate Zion:

Isaiah 52:7 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

7  How lovely on the mountains Are the feet of him who brings good news,

Who announces peace And brings good news of happiness,

Who announces (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh),

And says to Zion, “Your God reigns!”

Isaiah 52:10 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

10  The LORD has bared His holy arm In the sight of all the nations,

That all the ends of the earth may see The (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) of our God.

Rewards for Obedience to God:

Isaiah 56:1 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

1  Thus says the LORD, “Preserve justice and do righteousness,

For My (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) is about to come And My righteousness to be revealed.

Separation from God:

Isaiah 59:11 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

11  All of us growl like bears, And moan sadly like doves;

We hope for justice, but there is none, For (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), but it is far from us.

Isaiah 59:17 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

17  He put on righteousness like a breastplate,

And a helmet of (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) on His head;

And He put on garments of vengeance for clothing

And wrapped Himself with zeal as a mantle.

A Glorified Zion:

Isaiah 60:18 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

18  “Violence will not be heard again in your land,

Nor devastation or destruction within your borders;

But you will call your walls (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh), and your gates praise.

Zion’s Glory and New Name:

Isaiah 62:1  (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

1  For Zion’s sake I will not keep silent, And for Jerusalem’s sake I will not keep quiet,

Until her righteousness goes forth like brightness,

And her (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) like a torch that is burning.

Jonah’s Prayer:

Jonah 2:9 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted)

9  But I will sacrifice to You With the voice of thanksgiving.

That which I have vowed I will pay.

(יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) is from the LORD.”

God’s Deliverance of His People:

Habakkuk 3:8 (NASB – (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh) inserted) 

8  Did the LORD rage against the rivers,

Or was Your anger against the rivers,

Or was Your wrath against the sea,

That You rode on Your horses,

On Your chariots of (יְשׁוּעָה‎yeshûʿāh)?

TIME TO ANSWER THE QUIZ:

Lot of verses, huh?  Did you come up with an answer/answers?

Hopefully you were able to arrive at the answer by reading the above verses.  If not, I will give you a single verse in the text that will give you the answer:

 Matthew 1:21 (CJB)

21  She will give birth to a son,

and you are to name him Yeshua, [which means ‘Adonai saves,’]

because he will save his people from their sins.”

 The Hebrew word Yeshua used in the above verse is an important word to understand in the text.

It is important for 2 reasons: 

  1. It has a DEFINITION: Yeshua, [which means ‘Adonai saves,’]
  2. It has a PURPOSE:   he will save his people from their sins

Salvation is His name . . . Salvation comes from the LORD!  Praise be to our God for sending us His son Yeshua HaMashiach (Jesus the Christ) the Jewish Messiah that bled so that there could be forgiveness of sins for both Jews and the Nations (Gentiles).

Be Blessed!

About Even If Ministries

Dani'el 3:17-18 (CJB) 17 Your majesty, if our God, whom we serve, is able to save us, he will save us from the blazing hot furnace and from your power. 18 But even if he doesn’t, we want you to know, your majesty, that we will neither serve your gods nor worship the gold statue which you have set up.”
This entry was posted in Word Studies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

