I am homeless . . .

 

I am homeless . . .

 

I am not an animal, I am a man –

 

Why do you look the other way?

Why do you look down?

Why do you try to avoid eye contact?

Why do you hold your breath as you come near me?

Do I really smell that bad?

 

I know, I know,

If I would just get a job . . .

 

Your sandwich sure looks good –

I haven’t eaten anything in over 3 days . . .

surely, you could offer me a bite?

 

No change huh?

ATM across the street is probably out of money too . . .

 

It is -8 degrees out.

I slept, well, I tried to sleep

under

a bridge last night

on the

cold

icicle drawings

etched

into the

concrete

 

You are going to pray for me?!?

That I get a coat so I can be warm?

A coat like the one you got on?

YOU sure look warm in it!

 

You know,

no one has hugged me in over 2 years.

Do you know how bad that hurts?

How lonely that feels?

 

I am a nobody . . .

the least of the “somebodies”

the scourge of society . . .

you don’t want to see me . . .

you don’t want to hear my voice . . .

you wish I would just go away so you wouldn’t have to feel guilty . . .

 

but I have been here

for longer than you know . . .

since the dawn of creation.

 

I am Jesus.

 

jesus homeless

Matthew 25:45-46 (CJB)
45  And he will answer them,

‘Yes! I tell you that

whenever you refused to do it for the least important of these people,

you refused to do it for me!’
46  They will go off to eternal punishment,

but those who have done what God wants will go to eternal life.”

About Even If Ministries

Dani'el 3:17-18 (CJB) 17 Your majesty, if our God, whom we serve, is able to save us, he will save us from the blazing hot furnace and from your power. 18 But even if he doesn’t, we want you to know, your majesty, that we will neither serve your gods nor worship the gold statue which you have set up.”
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

